Book Review: A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes

 A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes

SAMSUNG CSC

* I received this book by the author in exchange for an honest review*

4.5/5

Synopsis (from Goodreads): How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside.

In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the crooked justice system. But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence.

What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.

Review: Dystopian is one of my favorite genres of all time, I could read them forever if I wanted. So when Nadine reached out to me, I knew I had to say yes! And I’m so glad I did. A Time to Die is a captivating tale filled with intense plots, complex characters, and so many hidden meanings. To say the least, I loved this book.

What I loved most about this book was the main character, Parvin’s, internal struggle and how she fought that war within herself. Throughout the book, Parvin deals with finding her purpose before her time runs out and how she does that is through her faith and communication with God. What Nadine did brilliantly was how she wrote Parvin’s struggles and made it so clear and relatable to the reader. I connected with Parvin, and in a sense, understood what she was going through even though my life isn’t determined by a clock.

This dystopian novel was so different from the rest. The way Nadine incorporated Christian themes into the story was so refreshing. I loved how Parvin had her faith, it made her a unique character and a much stronger one as well. As a christian myself, this book hit home in a sense. I understood Parvin’s worry about her purpose and her life, because that is a normal occurrence. You always wonder what God’s purpose is for your life, and Parvin not only made it her mission to find out, but to also complete that purpose as well.

I gave this book a 4.5/5 only because there were some spots that seemed a bit jumpy. As in it moved from scene to scene too quickly, but other than that it was an incredible book and I cannot wait to get my hands on the next one!

I recommend this book to anyone. It’s a story that I think anyone would enjoy, even if you’re not a fan of dystopian, try this one out. Your opinion on the genre could very well change.

Until next time, 

Kiara

Follow me on the socials!

GoodreadsTwitterInstagram


Leave a comment